Postmortem: Sherlock 1×03

14 Aug

Sorry for the delay, guys, busy with work and travel out of town.  Now, I have to admit, I didn’t guess outright the identity of Moriarty in last week’s Sherlock, but I totally should have, and I was a lot less shocked at the reveal than it seems like most others were.  Reasons why under the cut:

Once again, it comes to “secondary character, introduced once then forgotten”.  I did think it was curious that a new, seemingly unnecessary character was introduced in the finale, but it seemed plausible that he would be included just as another example both of Sherlock’s brains and social cluelessness/cruelty.

Honestly, I thought it might turn out that Molly was Moriarty.  She fit another common trope, that of secondary character who is given way too much attention.  While her role in the show was minimal enough to be plausible, the fact that he fake website was featured along with Sherlock and Watson’s made her way too important of a character to not be involved.  Of course I should have known they would have a female Moriarty, but sometimes I willfully forget about the high rate of misogyny amongst fanboys (not that I’m calling Moffat or Gatiss misogynists—I think they know that, had they made Moriarty a woman, the Holmes fans would freak out.)

Also, the placing the number under the dish was way too suave for what was supposed to be a nerdy, nervous character.  I totally should have called it then, and am super disappointed with myself that I didn’t.

As for my predictions about the cliffhanger—come on.  They survived.  The series was a huge hit for the BBC, they’ve announced they’re making another one, so Holmes and Watson are fine.  Seriously, don’t worry about it.  I also predict that Benedict Cumberbatch is going to be on Doctor Who within two seasons.  Maybe as Eleven’s Master?

3 Responses to “Postmortem: Sherlock 1×03”

  1. Tim August 16, 2010 at 9:44 am #

    Much as I’d love to see Cumberbatch on Who, I doubt it will happen. More likely that Sherlock will give him the springboard to try Hollywood (if that’s what he wants), to add to what is already a pretty impressive CV.

    If you’re interested, here is a link to my review of the entire Sherlock series:
    http://slouchingtowardsthatcham.wordpress.com/2010/08/10/sherlock-season-1-review/

  2. tvpsychic August 16, 2010 at 7:54 pm #

    I don’t know, isn’t it some kind of law that every British actor must appear on Who at least once? Cumberbatch has skirted his responsibility for too long.

    • Tim August 17, 2010 at 3:47 am #

      Well, he is reportedly good friends with Moffat – although he has said he would never have auditioned for the part of the Doctor himself because he didn’t fancy all the stuff that goes with it, like his face appearing on lunch-boxes.

      Maybe it’s something for later in his career (assuming Who is still running by then), but probably not in the short-term, I would guess.

Leave a Reply

